FBS Independents

Though these independents are technically not a conference we like to group them together as one. Several things each of these schools has in common is they've all won a national championship and they all have a Heisman Trophy winner.
Army Logo
BYU Logo
Navy Logo
Notre Dame Logo


The Army Black Knights football program represents the United States Military Academy. Army was recognized as the national champions in 1944, 1945 and 1946.
Three players from Army have won the Heisman Trophy: Doc Blanchard (1945), Glenn Davis (1946), and Pete Dawkins (1958).


The Brigham Young Cougars football team is a college football program representing Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. The Cougars won the national championship in 1984 and have a Heisman Trophy winner in Ty Detmer.


The Navy Midshipmen football team represents the United States Naval Academy in NCAA Division I-A college football. Navy has 19 players and 3 coaches in the College Football Hall of Fame and won the National Championship in 1926 according to the Boand and Houlgate poll systems.

Notre Dame

Notre Dame Fighting Irish football team is the football team of the University of Notre Dame, a private, Catholic university located in Notre Dame, Indiana.
The Fighting Irish have won 11 national championships, produced 96 All-Americans and 7 Heisman Trophy winners - all more than any other Football Bowl Subdivision school.

FBS News: